The Light Jar (Paperback)

The Light Jar Cover Image
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"Thoughtful and hugely empathetic" (The Guardian).The Light Jar isa compelling mystery that celebrates imagination and the light within.

Nate and his mother are running away. Fleeing from a bad situation at home, they hide out in an abandoned cottage in the middle of a forest. Though it's old and run-down, at least it's a place of their own.Then Nate's mother heads off for groceries and doesn't return. Has she run into trouble, or simply abandoned him? He is left alone and afraid, with the dark -- and all his old fears -- closing in on him.But comfort can come from the most unexpected of places: like a strange girl trying to solve the mystery of a treasure hunt, and the reappearance of a friend from his past. Will Nate find the bravery he needs to face down his fears, survive on his own, and ultimately illuminate his future?From the author of The Goldfish Boy, comes a captivating story of fear and hope, loneliness and friendship, and finding the light within, even in the darkest of times.

About the Author


Lisa Thompson is the author of The Goldfish Boy, The Light Jar, and The Day I Was Erased. She has worked as a radio broadcast assistant, first at the BBC and then for an independent production company making plays and comedy programs. During this time she got to make tea for lots of famous people. She lives in Suffolk, England, with her family. Find her on Twitter at @lthompsonwrites and at lisathompsonauthor.com.

Praise For…


Praise for The Light Jar:"A thoughtful and hugely empathetic book: a consolation for readers who, for whatever reason, might be feeling a little out of place in the world." -- The Guardian "Tense and threaded with mystery... Thompson adeptly draws the storylines into a cohesive whole that rewards readers with a satisfyingly hard-won resolution." -- Booklist"This is the kind of book that will matter most to kids facing loss and family disruption themselves, letting them know that imagination is a useful tool for developing courage in difficult times and that sometimes you need to go back in time in order to move forward." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"A witty and courageous book. Carefully and beautifully written, this is a book that will appeal to readers who enjoyed Ann M. Martin's Rain Reign and David Almond's Skellig." -- School Library Journal Praise for The Goldfish Boy:* "Thompson strikes the perfect balance, seemingly without compromise, between an issue-driven novel and one with broad, commercial appeal. This empathetic debut is a middle-grade whodunit with a very special heart." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review"A multilayered mystery at once suspenseful and heartrending." -- Booklist"The novel successfully weaves Matthew's personal struggle with obsessive-compulsive disorder and the search for the missing toddler into a compelling story with a hearty dose of mystery and adventure." -- School Library Journal"This book is filled with intriguing characters and tragic, mysterious pasts. Thompson has created a modern teenage tale interwoven with classic literary themes like loss, guilt, neglect, and loneliness. This is a story for everyone, featuring mystery, drama, and enough realism to inspire students to research and understand the complexities of the mind." -- School Library Connection"Heart and humour, along with a strong message about the value of family, friends and facing fears... make this assured debut stand out." -- Observer"Both a genuine mystery and an emotionally charged examination of fear and loneliness, this is a terrific read with warmly engaging characters." -- Daily Mail"This carefully judged, poignant story should help those with OCD feel less alone -- and help others to understand the impulses behind painful acts of repetition." -- Guardian"A genuinely clever mystery." -- Robin Stevens, author of the Murder Most Unladylike series"A great cast of characters and an intriguing mystery -- I loved it!" -- Ross Welford, author of Time Travelling with a Hamster

Praise for The Light Jar:"A thoughtful and hugely empathetic book: a consolation for readers who, for whatever reason, might be feeling a little out of place in the world." -- The Guardian "Tense and threaded with mystery... Thompson adeptly draws the storylines into a cohesive whole that rewards readers with a satisfyingly hard-won resolution." -- Booklist"This is the kind of book that will matter most to kids facing loss and family disruption themselves, letting them know that imagination is a useful tool for developing courage in difficult times and that sometimes you need to go back in time in order to move forward." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"A witty and courageous book. Carefully and beautifully written, this is a book that will appeal to readers who enjoyed Ann M. Martin's Rain Reign and David Almond's Skellig." -- School Library Journal Praise for The Goldfish Boy:* "Thompson strikes the perfect balance, seemingly without compromise, between an issue-driven novel and one with broad, commercial appeal. This empathetic debut is a middle-grade whodunit with a very special heart." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review"A multilayered mystery at once suspenseful and heartrending." -- Booklist"The novel successfully weaves Matthew's personal struggle with obsessive-compulsive disorder and the search for the missing toddler into a compelling story with a hearty dose of mystery and adventure." -- School Library Journal"This book is filled with intriguing characters and tragic, mysterious pasts. Thompson has created a modern teenage tale interwoven with classic literary themes like loss, guilt, neglect, and loneliness. This is a story for everyone, featuring mystery, drama, and enough realism to inspire students to research and understand the complexities of the mind." -- School Library Connection"Heart and humour, along with a strong message about the value of family, friends and facing fears... make this assured debut stand out." -- Observer"Both a genuine mystery and an emotionally charged examination of fear and loneliness, this is a terrific read with warmly engaging characters." -- Daily Mail"This carefully judged, poignant story should help those with OCD feel less alone -- and help others to understand the impulses behind painful acts of repetition." -- Guardian"A genuinely clever mystery." -- Robin Stevens, author of the Murder Most Unladylike series"A great cast of characters and an intriguing mystery -- I loved it!" -- Ross Welford, author of Time Travelling with a Hamster
Product Details
ISBN: 9781338216318
ISBN-10: 1338216317
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: May 5th, 2020
Pages: 256
Language: English